Minutes of special public meeting on formation of the Batemans Bay MTB Club

The minutes of the meeting were prepared by Jamie Clout, President and Secretary, September 2022, and endorsement by the committee at its first meeting on 14 September 2022 (moved Mark Walker, seconded Iain Oliver

A general meeting, open to the public, was held at the Broulee Brewhouse, at 530pm Wednesday 24 August 2022. The date and time, and purpose of the meeting was posted on the Batemans Bay MTB Riders facebook group. Several people who attended had heard of the meeting from word of mouth. A record of the 35 people that attended, and who became the foundation members of the club, is at Attachment A of these minutes.

Jamie Clout [JC] as meeting organiser opened the meeting by thanking everyone for coming and acknowledged the Yuin people, the traditional owners of the land, and their elders past and present.

JC set out the purpose the meeting was to consider whether to form a MTB club in this area.

JC invited Shane Spicer [SS] from the Eurobodalla Shire Council to give the assembled group an update on the Mogo Trails project. SS reported that the project was in the final stages of the FER and forestry permit negotiations. It was possible that these issues would be settled in the coming weeks and that work could commence immediately after that. Equipment and accommodation for the trail building team was waiting ready in Mogo.

By way of background JC set out several points that supported the forming of a club, the main being the Mogo Trails project. JC proposed that there were three main things a club could do given the local context of a major trails development funded by government and managed by the council —

- 1 trails development/maintenance
- 2 facilitate racing and
- 3 deepen the uptake of MTB riding and trail use in the community.

At this point there was a robust discussion of point 1, with concerns expressed about the capacity of a club to take on responsibilities for trail maintenance of 150km of trail. This was resolved with the clarification that this particular objective for the club would be refined to 'Advocate for and support local MTB trail development and maintenance'.

JC went on to inform the group of the steps involved in creating a club

- Get some members
- Elect a committee 7 members to manage the club, with a President, VP, secretary and treasurer, plus 3 non-office holding committee members
- Adopt a constitution
- Incorporate under NSW law (this is essential to provide individual members from liability) and

 Affiliate with AusCycling (this gives us access to their support and insurance)

JC reported on the activities so far to prepare for the creation of a club, following the guide on the AusCycling website:

- Raised the idea in the Batemans Bay MTB Riders Facebook group (the
 potential member base) a couple of times while there is different views on
 what a club should focus on, there is consensus that we should create a club
- Talked to riders
- Talked to both of the local bike shops to test what they hear what riders are saying, and to gauge their support for a club. Both were very supportive in general and indicated support for members, and volunteers at trail days etc
- Talked to ESC [local council] SS has said that a club is important to the
 ongoing success of the trails particularly for support for maintenance and for
 community ownership of the trails. JC and SS had discussed the role for the
 club in the governance of the trails going forward. A club representative
 could sit alongside council in making decisions and prioritisation of work to
 maintain and develop the trail network.
- Talked to Narooma MTB Club. Their president supports us and has offered to help the committee with advice and to share their experience with us.
- Talked to AusCycling. They are keen for a MTB club in this area to go with the trails project. They are happy for us to use the simpler NSW Fair Trading model constitution. They also said they would look at our capacity to support coaching and racing, when it comes to assessing an application for affiliation.
- Developed draft constitutions based on the models from NSW Fair Trading and AusCycling. The NSW FT model is much simpler and shorter. It has much less detailed rules about committees and meetings. It was noted that Narooma has used the simpler NSW FT model. JC said that the club could do whatever we wanted in customising a constitution, BUT using a model constitution with the least amount of modification makes it easier to comply with the laws and for incorporation to be approved.

JC indicated that the assembled group could take the first steps tonight and create a list of foundation members and elect a committee. That would allow the club to onto incorporation within NSW in October and then AusCycling affiliation application in November with a view to both being done by Christmas, or at least with AusCycling for consideration.

JC informed the meeting that if individuals wanted to become a foundation member they should provide a name and email address. JC note for the information of potential members that fees of MTB clubs are in two parts - a club component typically \$10-\$25, and AusCycling fee starting at \$85 for non-racing "lifestyle" membership or racing for \$190.

Motion and resolution – JC proposed that a local MTB club be formed. The motion was carried by a show of hands.

Motion and resolution – JC called for nominations for the name of the club. The members voted that the club be named the Batemans Bay Mountain Bike Club, by a show of hands.

Motion and resolution – JC proposed that the club be incorporated in NSW. The motion was carried by a show of hands.

<u>Motion and resolution</u> – JC proposed that the club be affiliated with AusCycling. The motion was carried by a show of hands.

<u>Motion and resolution</u> – JC called for nominations for office holders and committee members

President – JC was the only nomination, and was elected accordingly.

Vice President – Mark Walker was the only nomination, and was elected accordingly.

Secretary – JC was the only nomination, and was elected accordingly.

Treasurer - Yma Carnall was the only nomination, and was elected accordingly.

4 committee members – four members nominated for four positions of general committee members – Andrew Hearne, Iain Oliver, Steve Wright and Geoff Henderson. They were duly elected.

JC closed the meeting with an outline of next steps. He noted that communication would initially be through the BB MTB Riders FB group, and an email list of foundation members created tonight. JC also noted that the Committee would meet to agree the constitution and develop the applications for incorporation and affiliation. JC noted that founding members could pay their fees and membership for others would probably be possible in early 2023, after affiliation with AusCycling, as membership is managed through the AusCycling web portal.

Attachment A

PRESENT AT THE MEETING AND THE FOUNDATION MEMBERS OF THE BATEMANS BAY MTB CLUB

Dane Anderson

Mark Clacy

Natalie Anderson

Vicki Moorhead

Kate Huxley

Russell Golding

Rosalie Golding

Mark Walker

Rory Winterburn

Dean Byrne

Bill Platts

Hamish Gorman

Andrew Hearne

Joel Baty

Morgan Fitzgerald

Bryan Smith

Pieter van der Chys

Phillip Sharp

Stewart Hick

Ken Boer

lain Oliver

Paul Loker

Angus Murphy

Steve Wright

Geoff Henderson

Mark Moore

Liz Rankin

Shane Spicer

Heather Logie

Jamie Clout

Elizabeth Clout

Emily Clout

Dylan Buust

Yma Carnall

lan Jamieson

Garran Carnall

Julie Moore